If you suffer injuries in a car crash, the process for claiming compensation may soon differ from how it is now.
In April of this year, Florida lawmakers approved a bill that would drastically alter insurance requirements for Florida motorists. Yet, amid campaigning from those for and against the changes, Florida’s Governor still has not signed off on it. Its future is definitely in question.
If passed, the law would move Florida to a fault-based insurance system
If the Governor signs the bill into law, it would mean that if you are involved in a vehicle crash, you need to show the other driver was to blame so you can claim against their insurance. It would require every motorist to purchase mandatory bodily injury insurance covering at least $25,000 for one victim’s injuries or $50.000 for two if you cause a wreck.
Under the present system, you file a claim against your own personal injury protection (PIP) insurance first, before taking other action.. Yet, that only covers you for up to $10,000 worth of medical bills. If your expenses are more, which can easily happen, you can claim against your health insurance or pursue a civil action against the other driver.
Those against the bill complain it would increase the cost of insurance. In addition, they claim it would lead to even fewer drivers buying insurance, something that is already a big problem in the state. Those in favor of the bill argue it would bring down premiums, which would be better for the majority of residents.
Each person will have their own opinion on the matter. The view you hold right now may well change if you are involved in a vehicle crash. Understanding the latest information will be essential to gaining the compensation you need.