From a car accident to a trip, slip and a fall to a dog attack – personal injuries occur due to a variety of circumstances. If you sustain injuries as a result of another party’s negligent or intentional actions or inactions, you may be eligible for financial restitution for your resulting economic and non-economic damages via insurance claims and/or a personal injury lawsuit.
Personal injury claims, like many other legal matters, can be quite complex, especially if you are a novice on matters of the law. These are two crucial issues that you’ll need to be aware of if you intend to hold a defendant liable for harm that they recently caused you or a loved one.
Florida negligence laws
Every state has laws that determine how negligence is established. In Florida, your damages will be reduced if it is established that you contributed to the accident in any way. This is known as comparative negligence. In other words, any contributory fault chargeable to you will reduce any damages awarded by the court. For instance, if the court awards $100,000 in damages, and it’s established that you were 20 percent at fault, then your damages will be reduced to $80,000.
Statute of limitations
A personal injury, like damage to the spine or the brain, can turn your life upside down. Unfortunately, there is a time limit within which you can bring a personal injury claim against a defendant. This is known as the statute of limitations period. And in the Sunshine State, you have exactly four years from the date of your injury to bring your claim. Rarely is the statute of limitations period tolled (suspended). Thus, it is important that you do not this timeframe run out before taking action.
Safeguarding your interests
If you are hurt as a result of another person’s fault, you deserve justice. Learning more about Florida’s negligence and personal injury laws can help you protect your rights and avoid costly pitfalls when holding a liable party accountable for their harmful conduct.